Home > Labour Party defeats APC, Accord in Oyo bye-election

Post types

Featured posts


DJ Maff – Road2Fame Mixtape Vol. 10

Read more

LadiPoe ft. Simi – Know You (Video)

Read more

WurlD – Wayo (Kpe Le Wu) (Video)

Read more

Spin Worx – In2deep Records Presents Made Wit...

Read more

Labour Party defeats APC, Accord in Oyo bye-election

Labour Party defeats APC, Accord in Oyo bye-election
The Labour Party was on Sunday declared the winner of the bye-election for the Oorelope State Constituency of Oyo State.
Its candidate, Lukman Balogun, was declared winner of the election after he polled 6,122 votes.

Balogun was a former caretaker Committee Chairman of Oorelope Local Government Area.

Candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Jimoh Gbadamosi, polled 4,148 votes, while candidate of the Accord Party, Solomon Olabisi, polled 2,123 votes.

The election was conducted to fill the vacancy created in the Oyo State House of Assembly sequel to the murder of Hon. Gideon Aremu, who also rode to power on the platform of the LP.

Aroma was shot dead in front of his Alakia, Ibadan home on July 1 by armed robbers, who have since been apprehended by the police.

Reacting to his declaration as winner by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, Balogun thanked the commission and his supporters.

He said: “The surprising thing in this election is that we defeated them with 1,996 during the poll that returned the late Hon. Aremu and today, we have posted a similar margin.

“We had 1,974. It shows that the people believe in us and we will not let them down.”

The Oyo State House of Assembly made up of 18 members elected on the platform of the APC, eight produced by the Accord Party and one from the LP.

Initially, LP had six members, but five defected to the APC.


No Article in the category


Leave a comment