"Allow ads" and Popups on Chrome to avoid redirection of your browsers.

Fairspin - From school band to conservatory

Forum 3 days ago

Fairspin - From school band to conservatory

I've loved playing drums for as long as I can remember πŸ₯. According to my mother, I started playing drums before I started walking. One such childhood story is that when my mom feed me, after I ate the food, I started drumming on the little metal plate. Everyone had a lot of fun with it, and although there were signs, they didn't think drumming would become my lifelong passion.

I got my first drum kit for my fifth birthday and I used to beat it with great force to the delight of the neighbours. I played it until it fell apart. Then, when I started school, my parents gave me a slightly more serious drum kit. And from the third grade on, I was finally able to take drum lessons. A musician helped me learn, a family friend who had a grunge band. I remember I really loved going to drum lessons.

And when I was thirteen or fourteen I formed my first band, Fairspin. There were four of us in the band, two of my classmates and an older boy who also went to our school. We also played at the end of year celebrations, and were even invited to the Autumn Ball and smaller town events 🎀. Fairspin ran for about four years, then the boys and I split up after school. Everyone went to college, we didn't stay in town.

The first serious attempts

I entered music college with some experience, but my determination was bigger. Music theory gave me a lot of extra information, and I could finally put into context what I had instinctively been doing. I got on well with my classmates and the teachers liked me. When I finally got to the point where I could play music, it made up for everything 🎢.